TopicsProfessionalNew community practice teaching standards

New community practice teaching standards

The Queen’s Nursing Institute (QNI) has published new standards of education and practice for community practice teaching.

The standards include benchmarks and guidance outlining the transition from a practice supervisor and practice assessor role to that of a community practice teacher. It also includes the qualities required for community practice teaching, and the educational framework needed for learners undertaking specialist practice qualifications (SPQ) or specialist community public health nursing (SCPHN).

The new standards align with the four pillars of advanced practice of the Health Education England Advanced Practice Toolkit Framework. The pillars are as follows:

  1. Clinical care
  2. Leadership and management
  3. Education and assessing learning
  4. Evidence, research and development.

Higher education course leads, practitioners and commissioners from all four UK countries have contributed to the project through a Standards Advisory Group chaired by Professor John Unsworth OBE, QNI Chair of Council.

The project was led by Angie Hack QN, who said: ‘These standards will ensure there is a robust basis for contemporary and future education and practice development in place for nurses undertaking an SPQ or SCPHN programme.’

Image credit | Shutterstock


Latest articles

More articles