Mary Seacole 2019-20 winners and scholars revealed

06 December 2019

At an October ceremony at St Thomas' Hospital in London, five nursing and midwifery specialists were inducted as scholars, and six new specialists were awarded for their work.

At an October ceremony at St Thomas' Hospital in London, five nursing and midwifery specialists were inducted as scholars, and six new specialists were awarded for their work.

The annual Mary Seacole Awards provide opportunities to undertake specific healthcare projects that benefit the health outcomes of black, Asian and minority ethnic (BAME) communities.

The five scholars had been working on their projects for the past year, funded by Health Education England. The awards ceremony marked the culmination of all their hard work.  

The scholars awarded were:

Leadership awards

Dr Obrey Alexis, Oxford Brookes University
A qualitative study examining black African and black Caribbean men’s experiences of prostate cancer and their perceived needs.

Alis Rasul, Moseley Hall Hospital, Birmingham
Approachable parenting: A realist evaluation of the health visitor role in co-delivering a culturally sensitive early intervention programme to support the mental health of Muslim families.  

Dorcas Gwata, clinical lead, Integrated Gangs Unit, Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust
Improving leadership in mental health interventions for adolescents from African and Middle Eastern backgrounds who are affected by gang culture (vulnerable, violent and exploited) in Westminster.

Development awards

Sarah Chitongo, Middlesex University
Preventing deaths in high-risk BAME groups in maternity services.

Kanta Kumar, University of Birmingham
Perceptions of Doppler ultrasound scan among BAME patients with rheumatoid arthritis.

The new awardees for 2019-20 are:

Leadership awards

Eula Miller, senior lecturer programme lead mental health, Manchester Metropolitan University
The Achieving Care Together (ACT) project.

Malko Adan, senior research midwife, Imperial College Faculty of Medicine
Bridging the inequalities of outcomes experienced by black African and black Caribbean women in preterm birth.

Development awards

Amanda Firth, PhD student, University of Bradford, midwifery lecturer/cohort leader, University of Leeds
Perinatal depression in refugee and asylum- seeking women: investigating the issue at a service-user, clinical and system level.

Anganie Seecharan, diabetes specialist nurse, London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust
EDGE ethnic type 2 diabetes insulin group education for BAME communications.

Rebecca Agboola, health visiting team lead, Central London Community Healthcare NHS Trust
Increasing the uptake of 2.5 years child health reviews among black and minority ethnic groups in a deprived area of London.

Carolyn Spring, research nurse, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
Exploring the experiences of trainee and newly trained BAME nursing associates.

Chair of the Mary Seacole Awards committee and Unite lead professional officer Obi Amadi said: ‘Once again, the panel were presented with high-quality projects that will benefit and improve the lives of those from the BAME communities.’

Image credit | iStock

Subscription Content

Click To Return To Homepage

Only current Unite/CPHVA members or Community Practitioner subscribers can access the Community Practitioner journals archive. Please provide your name and membership/subscriber number below to verify access:

Membership number

If you are not already a member of CPHVA and wish to join please click here to JOIN TODAY

Membership of Unite gives you:

  • legal and industrial support on all workplace issues 
  • professional guidance on clinical and professional issues 
  • online information, training and support 
  • advice and support for all health professionals and health support workers
  • access to our membership communities 
  • CPHVA contribution rate is the Unite contribution rate plus £1.25 per month 

Join here https://www.unitetheunion.org/join-unite/

If you are not a member of Unite/CPHVA but would like to purchase an annual print or digital access subscription, please click here